In the beginning…

…there was but one post. This one in fact!

Being the first post, I think it is quite appropriate that I give you, my future reader, a little (vague) self introduction. As of now, I am a third year student, that is to say a junior, in college. My academic career has been a bit exciting as I have studied in 2 other universities in the past 3 years of study! Hopefully, after I graduate from college within the next two years, I will be able to get a job somewhere to pay back all of the wondrous college debt I accumulated.

Well, I guess now that I got that incredibly informative introduction out of the way, it’s about time I get to the real meat of this post. The internet, as I may describe it, is a platform in which seemingly endless amounts of information can be distributed and accessed. This information can vary greatly, from simple blog posts like this one, to highly refined research papers, however, the ease at which one may access this information is what truly makes the internet special.

Personally, I use the internet for a multitude of things. For example, I daily read the news on my favorite websites (BBC anyone?) in order to keep up with current global events. I also enjoy relaxing in front of the computer watching some of my favorite shows being streamed online. Social networking sites also grace my list of most frequently visited pages, as they make it incredibly easy for me to stay in touch with friends and family who live all around the globe. I have been using the internet for many years now, and more than once it has proven itself to be a faithful companion during the many long hours of research required for school reports or other intellectual endeavors. If you think about it, (assuming your under 30), can you imagine, or even remember, doing any paper without using Google or other search engines? I definitely can’t and probably you won’t remember either.

That being said, the web is indeed an incredibly complex organism, but a constantly evolving one at that. Its evolution is assured and I can’t wait to see what it will be like in the future!

One response to “In the beginning…

  1. I dig this entire introductory post. But my attention is riveted by/to your descripton of the web as an organism. Organism implies that there is some sort of biological life force to it, doesn’t it? If we are being literal, that is. Even as a metaphor it is still a thought provoking one – and one that I’ve not considered before.

    This is one more reason why I love the ds106 movement. I’ve learned a great deal while reading the initial blogposts and you and your classmates over the past couple of days. I have a feeling this is going to be a pretty exciting semester.

    I hope you continue to explore and develop the notion of net as organism.

Leave a Reply

