Flower Power II

Flower Power II

Pictured above is a solitary, deeply colored…flower.

If you read my previous post, I’m not very good with flowers, or flower names to be exact, so if you have any idea what this is (morning glory?) let me know. It’s definitely not something exotic, if that helps.. I took this picture in my backyard a few summers ago when I saw them blooming on the side of my house.

Maybe (eventually) in the Flower Power series, I will start giving more details about what the flowers actually are. I mean, not knowing anything about them is giving me the urge to do some research later anyway. So I might as well kill two birds with one stone and post that info on here!

(Maybe…maybe…)

Let me know what you think please, and post the name if you know!

Thanks!

3 responses to “Flower Power II

  1. it is a Morning Glory! there are over 1000 breeds of them, my favorite thing about them is that depending on the acid in the soil they can be anywhere from pink to blue, I love this one here that is kinda blue-kinda purple its an average middle-of-the road acid content. Interesting right?
    Is this a ds106 assignment? Can I do this too?

  2. Thanks Gabby, I never would have known what kind of flower this or about the acidity angle.

    I don’t know if such an assignment exists, but the idea of creating a post, based on an image perhaps, that invites the viewers to provide the answer is a great idea. I think if the actual assignment were phrased in general enough terms, some interesting things could happen.

    The idea of inviting the audience to interact is one of the important distinctions between Web 1.0 and Web 2.0 mindsets, I believe. I think the term for this is crowd sourcing.

    So who’s going to create and submit a ds106 “Crowdsource This” type of assignment?

Leave a Reply

